About the Museum
  Upcoming Events
  Contact Us
  Facility Rental

Subscribe to MOCADBecome a member to MOCAD


Save the Date!
October 7, 2016

Gala Host Committee
Burt Aaron
Lisa Applebaum
Pamela Applebaum + Gaal Karp
Dr. Charles Boyd
JJ + Anthony Curis
Kristen + David DeMuth
Linda Dresner + Ed Levy
Jean + Howard Dubin
Elle + Tony Elder
Leslie + Jeffery Etterbeek
Elyse + David Foltyn
Jennifer + David Fischer
Lynn + Bharat Gandhi
Roz + Scott Jacobson
Dave Kwiatkowski
Derrick May
Danielle + Mark Miller
Carmen + George N'Namdi
Sonia + Keith Pomeroy
Terese Reyes
Cate Strumbos + Dozer Strangway
Elaine Surnow
Sam Surnow

10th Anniversary Co-Chairs
Ashley + KC Crain
Lynn Crawford + John Haddad
Gretchen Gonzales-Davidson + Ethan Davidson
Elyse + David Foltyn
Kelle + Christopher Ilitch
Danialle + Peter Karmanos
Marsha + Jeff Miro
Linda + Rob Powers
Terry + John Rakolta Jr.
Allison Sarofim + Stuart Parr
Sandra Seligman + Gil Glassberg
Julie Reyes Taubman + Robert Taubman

Christopher Astley
Dana Awartani
Donald Baechlor
Heidi Barlow
Michael Bauer
Erica Baum
Gina Beavers
Trudy Benson
Timothy Bergstrom
Pierre Bismuth
Emmy Bright
Alexander Buzzalini
Taurus Burns
Edgar Bryan
Nina Canell
Adnan Charara
James Collins
Nicolás Consuegra
Adriano Costa
Abraham Cruzvillegas
Deborah Dancy
Vincent Dermody
Simone DeSousa
Mark Di Suvero
Matthew Eaton
Iris Eichenberg
Olivia Erlanger
Greg Fadell
Nick Farhi
James Benjamin Franklin
Sam Friedman
Liam Gillick
Shannon Goff
Sayre Gomez
Jacob Goudreault
Michelle Grabner
Jason Gringler
Andy Hall
Marie T. Herman
Federico Herrero
Jonathan Horowitz
Cody Hudson

Richard Hull
Sydney G. James
Robert-David Jones
Shaina Kasztelan
Mike Kelley
Ian Kuali'i
Tyler Lafreniere
Addie Langford
José Lerma
Amber Locke
John Maggie
Adriana Martínez
Eddie Martinez
Nancy Mitchnick
Thomas Müller
Jordan Nickel
Gary Panter
Nik Pence
Rob Pruitt
Adam Putnam
Bill Rauhauser
Jonathan Rajewski
Josh Reames
Scott Reeder
Tyson Reeder
Pedro Reyes
Ana Roldan
Anders Ruhwald
José María Sicilia
Maaike Schoorel
Gary Simmons
Nolan Simon
Kiki Smith
Sheida Soleimani
Jeni Spota
B. Thom Stevenson
Peter Sutherland
Lauren Taylor
Hank Willis Thomas
Kevin Thompson
Amikam Toren
Margo Wolowiec
John Yamin
Alivia Zivich

Galleries + Institutions
Andrew Rafacz Gallery
Anthony Meier Fine Arts
Bahamas Biennale
Buckminster Fuller Institute
Canada Gallery
Cheim & Read Gallery NYC
David Klein Gallery
Dozer Cycle Studio
Gallerie Camille
Gavin Brown's Enterprise
Hauser and Wirth
Instituto de visión
Jessica Silverman Gallery
Joshua Liner Gallery
Kavi Gupta Gallery
Library Street Collective
Marc Foxx Gallery
Marlborough Chelsea
Mendes Wood DM
Michael Benevento Gallery
Mitchell-Innes and Nash, NY
N'Namdi Contemporary Miami
Ornamentum Gallery
Simone DeSousa Gallery
Susanne Hilberry Gallery
TH.Muller Galleri
Hill Gallery
Tracy Williams Ltd.
Wasserman Projects
Western Exhibitions
What Pipeline

Please join the Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit as we celebrate another tremendous year of acclaimed exhibitions and expansive educational programs. The 2016 Gala + Art Auction will feature MOCAD’s brand of dynamic live entertainment, craft cocktails by our own Café 78, and a sophisticated dinner menu from Cutting Edge Cuisine.

The 2016 Art Auction, with work selected by MOCAD's Susanne Feld Hilberry Senior Curator at Large Jens Hoffmann and Executive Director Elysia Borowy-Reeder, will continue its tradition of offering exceptional pieces by some of today's most iconic and progressive international artists.

All proceeds enable MOCAD to continue presenting innovative and inspiring exhibitions and to build upon the momentum of its ambitious educational and cultural programming.

Click here for full bidding instructions for the Art Auction.

Evening's Itinerary
6:30pm - Cocktails & Auction Preview
8pm - Dinner & Remarks
9:30pm - Auction Ends
10pm - 2am - Afterglow with DJs Flint Eastwood + SYBLYNG
Supported by MOCAD New Wave, young professional support group

10th Anniversary Gala Tickets

2016 Gala Sponsors

Art Star Sponsors

  • Gretchen Gonzales-Davidson + Ethan Davidson
  • Sandra Seligman + Gil Glassberg
  • Julie Reyes Taubman + Robert Taubman

Super Star Sponsors

  • Linda Dresner + Ed Levy
  • Kelle + Christopher Ilitch
    Ilitch Holdings, Inc.
  • Danialle + Peter Karmanos
  • Marsha + Jeff Miro
  • Shelley + Joel Tauber

  • honigman

Rising Star Sponsors

  • Applebaum

  • Leslie + Jeffery Etterbeek 
  • Jennifer + David Fischer
  • Elyse + David Foltyn
  • Ralph + Erica Gerson
  • Lynn + Bharat Gandhi

In Kind Sponsors

  • Doner

  • John Rowland Workshop

  • Rob Powers

  • Blossoms
    4152 Third St. Detroit, MI 48201

10th Anniversary Gala Afterglow

Presented by Neiman Marcus + DDEAF Magazine

Afterglow Host Committee

  • Mike Ballerini
  • Lindsey Barile
  • Jesse Beld Elliot
  • Matt Ferrel
  • Loren Gillis
  • Tina Givens
  • Don Manvel
  • Tiff Massey
  • Jeff Newsom
  • Ed Welburn

Afterglow In Kind Sponsors


Is my registration/ticket transferrable?
Sorry, we cannot transfer your ticket purchase to another event.

Do I have to bring my printed ticket to the event?
No, there will be a will call list at the door.

What is the refund policy?
Sorry, your ticket purchase is not refundable. If you are no longer able to attend, we thank you for considering your ticket purchase to be a donation to MOCAD! You may also contact us to arrange for a friend or family member to attend in your place.

Where can I contact the organizer with any questions?
Please email admin@mocadetroit.org or call 313-832-6622 with questions.

What are my transport/parking options getting to the event?
MOCAD will provide valet parking for Gala dinner attendees.